Accessible Mobile Apps Weekly - Issue #7

Hello everyone,

This week, while doing my research for this newsletter, I came across an article about an organization in the UK giving away iPads to children with low vision.

In my head, I always thought about adults using assistive technology, and I never thought about all the kids using tablets and iPads with assistive tech.

I always found motivation knowing that more accessible applications could improving an adult's daily life, but I learned that "a child's confidence can grow once accessibility is included and, most importantly, acknowledged. [...] After just four months with an iPhone or iPad, a child’s reported autonomy increased on average by 18%, alongside engagement by 13% and sociability by 5%" (TechRadar). What an impact!

I feel like I learn something new every week when I do newsletter research, so this quote from an article on CloudFour.com really spoke to me:

"Remember that you don’t need to be an expert to advocate for accessibility. All you need is an open mind and a willingness to learn."

Have a great week, and as always, feel free to send me suggestions for the next issue via email (hello@accessiblemobileapps.com) or Twitter.

- Robin

Blog: Common Accessibility Features Missing from Mobile Apps

"Being able to switch phone orientations from portrait to landscape easily is crucial for all mobile app users, especially those with disabilities. [...] Yet only 28% of iPhone and 25% of Android apps automatically reoriented screens." - Accessibility.com

Assistive Technology Glossary by Fable

Can you define all the accessibility terms on this list?

Accessible Gaming on Discord

Ever wanted to ask a question to real people using assistive technology? Maybe you want to find an accessibility tester for your app. Checkout the Accessible Gaming Discord, and especially the topic #advocates-and-content-creators.

iOS

Did you know about the caption panel?

Conference: 360iDev

If you're going to 360iDev in August, don't miss the workshop "Identifying and Fixing iOS Accessibility Issues" by Rob Whitaker

Android

Building Accessible Android Apps with Jetpack Compose: Real-Time Examples

Deque continues their series on Jetpack Compose with this article.

Accessibility in the Android World

Here's a nice article on accessibility on Android by ProAndroidDev.

Jobs

Product Manager - Accessibility @ Tiktok